Or: I’m sorry, Please Forgive Me, I love You, and Thank You

Ho’oponopono: to cleanse.

This is the Number One Thing that holds people back from trying to change their lives in a meaningful way – in a way that sticks. It’s so simple, and the logic behind it is pretty sound. Forgive yourself for things in the past that you were at fault for. Forgive those in your past for hurting you. Sounds simple enough, right?

Well, Ho’oponopono takes that a little bit further. Not only does Ho’oponopono teach you to forgive yourself for your own mistakes – and this includes memories, thoughts, ideas, actions and etc. that have negative emotions attached to them – but also take 100% full responsibility for things that have happened to you that weren’t in your control. It might even be stuff that is happening to you that you are uncomfortable with/unhappy about right now. It might be your current situation. Now, that makes it a lot tougher.

Ho’oponopono teaches you that everything around you – every person – is a reflection of you. That the root of everything lies in you (good and bad). This means, of course, that if at the core of it, we are all connected to everyone and everything, then you have the power to fix your life in a way that is pretty profound.

As Dr. Dyer says, even at your lowest, remember: “There are no justified resentments.” Your friend might’ve said/done something to you that negatively affected you. Your mom/dad/sister/brother/boyfriend/girlfriend weren’t the best, and might’ve filled you up with doubts and thoughts/ideas that are unpleasant. The thing is, though – they might never apologize for these things. They might never give you the kind of emotional relief you are seeking by absolving themselves. You have to take it into your own hands, and heal yourself.

Dr. Hew Len says, “What is going on in me that I am creating this experience.” He is the current pioneer and leader of teaching the healing ways of Ho’oponopono. In fact, many years ago, when he was strong-armed into working at a mental institution in Hawaii, he practiced Ho’oponopono in his office so that he could cleanse himself. He looked through the patient files/charts – and the patients there were varied, but some were unstable and had done some terrible things – and started doing Ho’oponopono on each and every person. As funny as it is, he said in a recent interview that he didn’t do Ho’oponopono to heal the patients, but he did it to heal himself. If the patients were a reflection of him, and if his beliefs taught him that every person was a perfect being (in the Bible), then the problem was with him. He said that the patients weren’t crazy and bad, there was just a part of him that had made them to be that way. He took 100% responsibility of his situation, and decided to change it.

Ho’oponopono helped him cleanse his surroundings in such a way, that the workers all came back to work in a few weeks (they would call in “sick” often), instead of being frightened away. It cleansed him and his surroundings – the people, as well – in such a way, that the patients there no longer had to be chained and restrained. They were even permitted to go walking around. The patients healed, and instead of the institution having a 2-4 years turnaround time, the patients would be out of there in 3-4 months. They eventually had to shut down the institution. Honestly, that is so amazing that it’s a bit jaw-dropping.

So, the wonderful thing about Ho’oponopono is that you don’t have to wait for anyone to apologize to you. You don’t have to wait for something that might never happen. If we are all a reflection of one another, and if at the core, we are similar (and good), then you have the ultimate power – and this is a truly amazing thing you are doing, make no mistake – to take on responsibility for whatever it is that fills us with those low emotions, and through acceptance, forgiveness, and love, we heal ourselves. We heal our pasts. We even heal those people, in the process. That is how amazing Ho’oponopono is.

I used Ho’oponopono to erase and cleanse thoughts and memories from my past that were even tied to my time in high school and certain people there. (I didn’t know that some of those thoughts were so powerfully negative until I did Ho’oponopono on them. The relief was actually almost physical, with the way I felt so light and thankful once I was done.)

I use it to cleanse each and every negative thought and memory that pops into my head and slows down my progress and/or tries to change my mood. I even use it to cleanse my surroundings, sometimes. (A neat fact: inanimate objects contain energy. So, if you find yourself in a place that makes you uneasy, try to use Ho’oponopono to cleanse the energy there and put you at ease.)

The way that I normally go about using Ho’oponopono is by saying, “I’m sorry that there is a part in me that unconsciously and without meaning to created this problem/idea/thought. I’m glad that I now have the chance to permanently address this issue and cleanse it forever. Please forgive me. I love you. Thank you.” You can say this to yourself, a god/deity, another person, or whatever you feel is appropriate at the moment.

I do it often enough until I feel that the negative emotion attached to whatever it is that bothers me dissipates. I also do it when I am meditating, and my mind is more clear and focused, and I can go through each memory more easier/freer. I do it on little problems or blocks throughout the day, when I want to change my fortunes and make sure that I am in the best position to succeed. And funny enough, using it even on the most innocuous things has a way of solving your day-to-day problems in a heartbeat.

There is also a technique called “Tapping” that a lot of people do to help cleanse and clear themselves, and I’ll go into that in further detail in my next post. You can combine Tapping and Ho’oponopono and get even quicker results, if you really want to shift something in your mind around.

So, before you try to jump into a better, more wonderful future, you first have to take heed of the little anchors in you that might be unintentionally sinking your ship before it’s even left the harbor. That is the primary reason why some people never accomplish trying to shift their lives around for the better – because they have too many things in them that are hidden, unresolved, and simply ignored.

It doesn’t have to be a scary experience, dipping into your memory banks and starting the process. With some practice, it’s like looking through a photo album. It can be pretty efficient.

Remember: I’m sorry. Please forgive me. I love you. Thank you. Arm yourself with this, accept that there is a part of you that is at fault, and then cleanse it. Give yourself the blank slate that you deserve. Allow yourself to move on. We are all remarkable beings – accept that and honor that.

You might cry as you do this, and that is perfectly fine. That means your body is releasing the negative emotions associated with these thoughts and memories on a permanent, intrinsic level. It means that these negative thoughts can no longer make you sick, make you feel guilty about anything, and make you doubt yourself. Remember: Negative emotions can make you physically sick and even kill you.

Use Ho’oponopono until you feel that shift, were the chains are loosened and you are able to breathe freer, easier. My mom, who is extremely stubborn and is a master grudge-holder (and also happens to be sick), has been doing Ho’oponopono for merely two weeks, and just yesterday, she called to tell me that in her dream the night before, she shook hands with someone she had been angry at and betrayed by a few years ago, and told him to take care of himself. She told me that there was a really strange calmness to the entire thing – as she shook his hand, and he told her to stay in touch. She said that she wouldn’t stay in touch with him, but that it was fine. They wished each other good luck. I was floored. I knew that she could do it, but to have proof of her cleansing on a subconscious level, made me feel so immensely proud of her. Better yet, she was really proud of herself, too, and her spirit was boosted.

I’m sorry. Please forgive me. I love you. Thank you.

Take care, dear readers. Until my next post!

Love,

Ani

P.S. A link that you might find useful, even though I tried to cover the main points in my main post.

http://www.thereisaway.org/Ho%27oponopono_cleaning_meditation.htm

